NBA rules Kevin Durant double-dribbled late in win over Heat


Warriors forward Kevin Durant should have been called for a double-dribble on Golden State’s final possession of Sunday’s 120-118 win over the Miami Heat, the league announced Monday.

In its latest Last Two Minute Report, the NBA found that Durant, who’s missed 3-pointer set up an offensive rebound and go-ahead free throws by teammate DeMarcus Cousins with 5.4 seconds to go, did not have his dribble interrupted by inadvertent contact from Heat guard Justice Winslow and “a discontinued dribble should have been called” on the Warriors’ all-star.

Following Sunday’s game, Heat coach Erik Spoelstra spoke out against the play.

“Those are tough calls to make, but everybody saw it. It’s right there in front of everybody,” Spoelstra said. “That should be a violation, and you can’t miss those calls. But we had our chances, it was back and forth.”

On Monday, Spoelstra, who was not fined for Sunday’s comments, said that his words were about “accountability all across” the league.

“I didn’t say anything inflammatory,” Spoelstra told reporters before the Heat’s game in Denver. “I’m allowed to say my piece about that. I didn’t cross the line, so I didn’t anticipate that I would be fined.”

Related Articles

Warriors Looking Forward: “Slimmer margin for error” vs. Jazz, Trail Blazers

Stephen Curry will be the subject of the next Facebook Watch series

Warriors 3 Things: The Four Horsemen of the NBA Apocalypse ride again

Stephen Curry tells Dwyane Wade “you have a lot more in the tank”

Warriors …read more

Source:: The Mercury News – Sports

      

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *